About us

Celebrating Hamilton’s Irish heritage on St. Patrick’s Day

The Wearing of the Green (WOTG) Committee was started in 1986, by Ed Cummings and Bill Gardner to recognize people of Irish background who contribute to the betterment of Hamilton and promote Irish culture.

Wearing of the Green Luncheon

The WOTG committee organized the first Wearing of the Green luncheon, held on March 17, 1986, at the Royal Connaught Hotel. The first recipient of the Irish Person of the Year award was Bishop Joseph F. Ryan.

The luncheon of corned beef and cabbage has carried on at various venues throughout the years. Since 2006, we have enjoy held the event at Michelangelo Banquet Centre. On average 350-450 people attend the annual St. Patrick’s Day luncheon where Hamilton’s Irish Person of the Year is honoured. Our organization has contributed over $50,000 to various charities across the city of Hamilton including Good Shepherd, City Kids, Neighbour to Neighbour, and the De Mazenod Door outreach program at St. Patrick’s Church.

Hamilton’s Irish Person of the Year

The Hamilton Irish Person of the Year award recipient has Irish roots, and they have a strong understanding and appreciation of the Irish-Canadian heritage that the award celebrates. The award was designed to recognize a person who has made an exceptional contribution to the Irish community in the Hamilton area or who has personally brought it honour and distinction in the wider community through volunteerism and/or their career.

In the Community

Along with the Irish Canadian Club of Hamilton, we have dedicated a monument at Hamilton’s City Hall in the west-side courtyard honouring Irish immigrants who came to Hamilton and helped to enhance the quality of life in our community. 


Group shot of wearing of the green committee on stage at ceremony.
2012 Wearing of the Green Committee
Front row L to R: Steve Corrigan, Wayne Cosby, Colleen Cosby, Joe Sullivan
Back row L to R: Sheila Drury, Anita Ormond-Gough, John Mills, Maggie Dillon, Mickey McGuire, Ed Cummings, Irene Stayshyn, Howard Fullerton, Bryan McLaughlin